I’ve Got an Oil for That!

oils

    You guys, I just LOVE my essential oils!  Those little bottles right there – they are so AMAZING!  In my house it is often heard – “Ask my mom, she’s got an oil for that”.  My whole family uses essential oils everyday.  We use them for better sleep, dealing with stress, better looking skin, coughs and sniffles, rashes, stomach aches, headaches . . . . oh just for everything.

Essential oils come from plants and flowers in nature.  They are extracted from the plants and then we have the pure oil to use.  Because oils are not medications our bodies just use what they need,  the oils bring balance in the body.  In other words, they give us what we need for our bodies to function well.  I don’t claim these oils heal disease or cure illness – but there is a lot of research out there to validate their use.  Just one example:

Frankincense has been studied by the National Institutes of Health and found to affect cancer cells.  Read the conclusion of the study here .

Essential oils have antioxidant properties, antimicrobial properties and are absorbed through the skin easily.  More scientific info from the NIH .

A lot of people enjoy the smell of essential oils.  They do smell good!  I diffuse them in my home to clear odors and for a “happy smell”.   Smelling those oils can actually affect your mood.  When you inhale something through your nose, the olfactory center carries those little molecules right up to the limbic system in our brain.  The limbic system is the seat of our emotions.  So just think about how some smells remind you of certain places or events.  Now it makes sense, right?  What we smell affects our emotional center.

Smelling_Lavender_large I sleep so much better after discovering an essential oil blend called Peace and Calming.  Using one drop on the bottom of my feet each night ends up in restful sleep and waking up feeling rested.  My whole family depends on this oil now.  One day my 6 year old granddaughter woke up looking like she had a rough night.  When we asked her what was wrong, she said “momma forgot to give us our oils last night”.   That pretty much is all the proof I need.  

Here’s a word of warning.  Not all essential oils are the same.  I used to buy oils at the health food store.  They smelled good but I never really saw any results from them.  When I started using 100% pure, therapeutic grade essential oils I definitely noticed results.  So, the less expensive oils at the store and usually diluted with a carrier oil such as almond oil or jojoba oil.  Pure essential oils are expensive to produce and there is a limited number of plants available each season to harvest oils from.  The oils I use are from Young Living.  It is a company that has been in business for 20 years. They grow their own plants and oversee all the harvesting, distillation and packaging.  Here’s more info about the seed to seal guarantee .

For the next 10 days, I will be featuring a different oil each day here on the blog.  These will be basic oils that are inexpensive and have many uses.  Check back each day and I am sure you will learn some interesting things you never knew.  I love comments and questions – please let me know your thoughts or specific oils you are interested in.  Do you already use essential oils?  Tell us your favorites.

For more information check out this link with lots of useful oily info .  Have a great day – pay attention to the smells around you and see how they affect how you feel.   deboil20drop20bottle_full

Leave a Reply

